Award Awards

2020 Vernon L. Smith Young Talent Award


Christine Laudenbach

Annika Weber

Johannes Wohlfahrt

Shagata Mukherjee

We are pleased to announce the two joint-winners of the 2020 Vernon L. Smith Young Talent Award in Experimental Finance:

Beliefs About the Stock Market and Investment Choices: Evidence from a Field Experiment

Laudenbach, Christine; Weber, Annika; Wohlfart, Johannes

Are Women Really Better Borrowers in Microfinance? Evidence from Matrilineal and Patrilineal Societies in India

Mukherjee, Shagata

The award panel is impressed by the depth and scope of the work and is convinced that both papers make an important contribution to Finance research. The panel members were Elena Asparouhova (University of Utah), Michael Kirchler (University of Innsbruck), Dave Porter (Chapman University), and Utz Weitzel (VU Amsterdam and Radboud University).  

With the award, which is jointly sponsored by the SEF and Chapman University, comes  to prize money of US$ 4000. (The panel awarded this year’s Young Talent to two submissions, each of which receives US$ 4000.) In accepting the award, the winners confirm that they will use the prize money for future research projects.

Congratulations to all authors for their contributions!