Award Awards

2023 Vernon L. Smith Excellence Award


Cary Frydman

Lawrence J. Jin

We are pleased to announce that Cary Frydman (USC Marshall) and Lawrence J. Jin (Cornell University) won the 2023 Vernon L. Smith Excellence Award in Experimental Finance for their paper “Efficient Coding and Risky Choice”, published in the Quarterly Journal of Economics (

The award panel is excited about this important contribution to the study of perception in finance. The panel members are Elena Asparouhova (University of Utah), Michael Kirchler (University of Innsbruck), Dave Porter (Chapman University), and Stefan Palan (University of Graz).

Congratulations Cary and Lawrence!